Established in 1957 we are now home to almost 4000 young athletes!

Basketball was played competitively in Brisbane as early as the 1920s as part of the YMCA program.

Dr. Ivor Burge, a stalwart of basketball in Victoria in the late twenties and thirties, moved to Brisbane in 1941 as Director at the YMCA in Queensland and in 1946, with the help of the University club and the YMCA, he formed the Queensland Amateur Basketball Association (QABA). Early QABA games were played on outdoor courts at Crosby Park, Albion and Wool Court at the Exhibition Grounds, host of the 1950 and 1954 Australian Championships.

The Brisbane Amateur Basketball Association (BABA) was formed in 1962, with games continued to be played at Crosby Park, until moving to the Paddington Plaza (theatre), and then to the Albion Indoor courts at Burdett Street, Albion. The Australian Men’s Championships were held at the Paddington Plaza in 1965.

The Brisbane Basketball Referees Association (BBRA) was founded in 1965. Recognised as one of the leaders in education and referee participant numbers across the state.

In 1973, through the initiative of Queensland Basketball’s Ken Madsen, Harold Peacock, and Bob Rayner the Vince Hickey Stadium, a two-court complex, now Auchenflower Stadium, was built to host its first Australian Championships.

In 1979 the Brisbane Basketball Association were inaugural members of the National Basketball League with the Brisbane Bullets.

And in 1982 entered the Brisbane Lady Bullets (later the Brisbane Blazers) in the WNBL

In 1984 BABA became Brisbane Basketball Incorporated (BBI) when the organisation was incorporated

In 1985 Brisbane Basketball entered both Men’s and Women’s teams, in the inaugural State Basketball League (SBL), originally as the Brisbane Brewers, now known as the Brisbane Capitals.

1985 also saw the Brisbane Bullets win the NBL Championship and again in 1987.

In 1989 Brisbane Basketball in conjunction with Southern Districts formed the Greater Brisbane Basketball League (now known as GBL), in an attempt to produce a high-quality competition for the senior players (both Men and Women) in our region. Two years later Southern Districts withdrew from the league, with BBI picking up the banner, to run with it. It has grown greatly, and now also caters for Silver and Under-23 players.

In 1994, Brisbane Basketball held the World Masters Games.

The association sold the Brisbane Bullets in 1991, to allow the Bullets to grow, and to fund the advancement of the sport in Brisbane, and the funding of the Brisbane Lady Bullets (later the Brisbane Blazers)

Brisbane Basketball relinquished their WNBL license in 1995.

Auchenflower stadium was enlarged to four courts in 1998.

Brisbane Basketball was seriously damaged during the floods in 2011 but restored to operation by staff, members, and volunteers.

Brisbane Capitals played in SBL and QBL competitions until 2020, and in 2021 joined the NBL commissioned state league competition called NBL1 North.

In 2022 Brisbane Basketball once again was affected by flooding, with serious damage to the lower levels and courts 1 and 2. In 2023 BBI began consultation and planning to future proof Auchenflower Stadium in conjunction with the flood recovery, the refurbishment of the stadium aims to meet the growing needs of an ever-increasing community.

delivered direct.